Book Review: The Firedancer by Rye Cox

The Firedancer

Author: Rye Cox
Series: Black Cat Circus, book two
Publisher: Independent (May 13, 2023)
Kindle edition, 184 pages
Genre, Sub-genres


Coal was drawn to the circus after being driven out of the only home he knew. He was the outcast, the half-blood that shouldn’t have survived the fire that burned inside him. At Black Cat Circus, he finds a family of people just like him, of those who accepts him just the way he is. However, the scars that were buried deep in his heart keeps him from letting anyone get too close. He is fire, and he’s afraid of once again losing control of the very thing that made up the very essence of himself.

Rhett never knew his parents or had a family. Having grown up in foster care, he’s determined to find a place he can finally call home. When he sees the ad looking for a chef for a certain traveling circus, he’s compelled to apply despite never once leaving the little town he grew up in. What he doesn’t expect is to find friends shrouded in mystery, and a beautiful man who burned so brightly but tried to dampen his flames.

The two can’t resist the pull of the other, but are terrified of what it means to want more. When playing with fire, they must be careful or risk getting burned.

The Firedancer is a paranormal MM romance that features light temperature play and learning to be comfortable in one’s own skin. It is part of the Black Cat Circus multi-author series that features found family and a magical cast of characters. Each book can be read as a standalone but is better enjoyed as a series.


Rating: 3 out of 5.

This is a sweet and steamy, low angst romance with a super fun cast of characters. It will make you want to go to the circus!! Coal and Rhett are such a good match (even if I DID see the “plot twist” about Rhett coming from, like, basically the first moments he’s on page…) These two lost souls find each other and the way they come together is just so sweet. Also, this book made me hungry!! Rhett can come cook for me any time. 😉

Coal is the one of the core group from the Black Cat Circus I was least interested in, so I’m not super surprised that I wasn’t quite as into this book as book one, The Daredevil. That being said, I CANNOT WAIT for Brighton’s book (The Aerialist) and Seven’s book (The Ringmaster)!!!

This is the second book in the Black Cat Circus series, which is a set of interconnected standalone novels each by a different author and all centered around the Black Cat Circus.

I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book. All opinions are unbiased and my own.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.