Book Review: I’m the Villainess, So I’m Taming the Final Boss Vol. 1

I’m the Villainess, So I’m Taming the Final Boss Vol. 1

Original Cretor: Sarasa Nagase
Visual Art: Anko Yuzu, Mai Murasaki
Series: I’m the Villainess, So I’m Taming the Final Boss, vol. 1
Publisher: Yen Press (October 26, 2021)
Paperback, 196 pages
Comics & Graphic Novels, Manga, Fantasy (Isekai)
Goodreads

Summary

When Aileen, the Duke’s daughter, regains her memories of her past life, she realizes she’s barreling towards ruin at full speed. Searching for any way out of her hopeless situation, the method she chooses is to capture the heart of the last boss-the Demon Lord Claude!

Review

Rating: 5 out of 5.

This is a fun spin on the very popular isekai (genre? trope? I’m not sure what to call it!) where the heroine (sort of…) wakes up as the villainess in a dating sim game. Determined to avoid a bad end, she tries to recall the various flags and possible game routes to get the best ending for herself. Her best best – romancing the final boss, the demon king! This manga is so fun, and I really fell for both Aileen and the Demon Lord Claude very quickly. I DEFINITELY ship them, and can’t wait for the next volume! I love that the story has all sorts of twists and turns you’re not expecting, and you really do end up rooting for these characters that are supposed to be the “villains” of the story. It just goes to show that everyone (even the villain!) is the hero of their own story. This first volume ends with a bit of a twist and I cannot wait to see where it goes in volume two.

A digital ARC of this book was provided by the publisher via Edelweiss+ for review. All opinions are unbiased and my own.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.